Putrajaya announces 2-week MCO, 5 economic sectors to stay open

Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhiyiddin Yassin has announced the implementation of the Movement Control Order from Wednesday (Jan 13) until Jan 26, a period of 14 days.

The states under MCO includes Penang, Selangor, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malacca, Johor and Sabah while Pahang, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Kedah, Terengganu and Kelantan will be under CMCO.

Additionally, both Perlis and Sarawak will be under RMCO.

Putrajaya will on the other hand allow five economic sectors – industrial and manufacturing, construction, services, trade and distribution as well as plantation and commodities to continue operating.

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) will detail the types of services listed as essential economic sectors. MITI and the Ministry of Kerja Raya will also list the details of the construction work allowed to operate.

However, only 30 percent of employees are in the group management allowed to be in office while for employees in the support group, the number of employees who are required at a time will be determined by the employer respectively. The number of employees determined must take into account the strict compliance of the SOP.

For sectors or services that are not listed as essential services, work from home instructions will take effect. All employers must comply with these instructions to reduce movement within the community, especially in high-density areas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here