Govt Advances 5G Dual-Network With SSA

On June 28, 2024, mobile network operators (MNOs) CelcomDigi, Maxis, U Mobile, and YTL Communications finalised the Share Subscription Agreement (SSA) to hold equity in DNB.

The breakdown of the shareholding is shared by the Deputy Minister of Communication, Teo Nie Ching  as follows:

ShareholderIssued Share Capital Held (RM)Shareholder Advance (RM)Cumulative Percentage of Issued Share Capital and Shareholder Advanced
Minister of Finance Incorporated500,000,00034.88%
Telekom Malaysia100,0000.01%
U Mobile100,000233,233,33316.28%
YTL Communications100,000233,233,33316.28%

The shareholding structure in DNB for each investor will be adjusted to 30% for the Minister of Finance Incorporated and 14% for each MNO once Telekom Malaysia completes its share subscription agreement with the Minister of Finance Incorporated and DNB on or before August 21, 2024.

Completion of the SSA qualifies the participating service providers to join Malaysia’s 5G dual-network model. The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) has been instructed to begin identifying and appointing the mobile network service provider that will develop the second 5G network in Malaysia.

This process includes issuing the Applicant Information Package (AIP) on July 1, 2024, and will be conducted transparently under the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998.

The status of Malaysia’s 5G dual-network implementation and the allocation of equity in Digital Nasional Berhad (DNB) to telecom companies were discussed in the Dewan Rakyat today (July 3), in response to a question from Chong Zhemin (DAP-Kampar).

Previous articleNew Ventures, Enhanced Capabilities Backs VS Industry’s Quest ForHigher Profits
Next articleRevolutionising Malaysia’s Housing Sector


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here