Heineken 0.0 Is Only For Non-Muslims

Heineken Malaysia clarifies that Heineken® 0.0 is non-Halal and is only targeted at non-Muslims, aged 21 and above.

According to the brewer, All Heineken® 0.0 products are only available at the non-Halal zone of supermarkets and convenience stores with clear signage indicating that the product is strictly for non-Muslims, aged 21 and above only.

In addition, for stores without designated non-Halal areas, it said that clear signages were placed to inform consumers that Heineken® 0.0 is strictly for non-Muslims, aged 21 and above.

Heineken Malaysia stated: “The purpose for introducing Heineken® 0.0 in Malaysia is to provide a choice for non-Muslim consumers who enjoy the taste of beer but not necessarily the effects of alcohol, particularly beer drinkers who seek to moderate their alcohol consumption as part of a balanced lifestyle.”

Meanwhile, the ‘Now You Can’ tagline, it said, referred to the various new occasions that Heineken® 0.0 allowed non-Muslim consumers to enjoy a beer, including at lunch, during work meetings, after the gym, and when one needs to drive. The brewer said its advertising materials on social media educated non-Muslim consumers about the ‘Now You Can’ occasions.

“As a responsible and progressive brewer, HEINEKEN Malaysia is committed to advocating responsible consumption, and we believe Heineken® 0.0 has an important role to play in this regard.

“We also wish to reiterate that Heineken Malaysia Berhad is a company that is culturally sensitive in the way that we operate our business. All our marketing materials and press advertisements carry visible disclaimers that Heineken® 0.0 is strictly for non-Muslims aged 21 and above only.”

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here